24 hours of great shopping in Mumbai

I had a little over 24 hours in Mumbai before getting a flight. As it was my first time in the city, my fabulous stylish friend set up an itinerary for me to see some of the sites, but most importantly check out some of the best stores! I Arrived to the Oberoi Hotel at around 2pm and had some lunch there. After lunch, I started with some shopping at the Oberoi Shopping Centre. Amrapali they have two stores Silver and the amazing precious/gold jewelry which was incredible!.image

image

I also went to Christina, down the corridor from Amrapali were they sell Silk scarves and tunics. In the Trident shops, which are connected to the Oberoi  I went to Essa Brothers and got some fabulous shawls!image

I then took a car and went towards the Taj Hotel, with a first stop at the store Bombay Electric. They have some amazing scarves, accessories and dresses:
image

image

image

I then crossed the street and went to the Taj Hotel for some tea at the Sea Lounge – I had to include the menu quote which was quite cool.

image

image

But the best part of it is the view of the Gateway of India (my official blurb: Gateway of India was built for the visiting British King. It is also where the last British colonial rules sailed from when India gained independence). These pictures I took from the window of my table!

image
image

That took me to close to 6pm. After that, back to the Hotel and a fabulous dinner at my friend’s house.

Next Day I started at around 10:30am (no use starting earlier as so much is closed early) with a city tour of the town in the car, which made for some great driving around. Below, some pics from the car, I am really digging the rearview mirror pictures.imageWhat was my itinerary? First Bombay Gothic: Bombay University, High Court, the Oval, Victoria Terminus and the Flora Fountain. After that I went to Horniman Circle, stopped at the Starbucks for a fix (its the first one in the  city) and some window shopping at Hermes!

imageimage

The off to some shopping. First stop, Ensemble and then Sabyasachi (Kala Ghoda neighborhood) . Ensemble had some fabulous pieces! two floors of great fabrics and outfits! As for Sabyasachi, an amazing store in a beautiful and eclectic setting. and I was very happy looking at Indian wedding dresses (not that I would ever need one, but I can never say no to beautiful bejeweled fabrics)

image

Quick pit stop lunch at Indigo Deli. The baked yogurts, especially the saffron one was to die for.

image

and then off to some more stores. first stop Aza, on Altamount Road, where they had a great selection of Indian and Western clothes.
image

and then, Good Earth at Raguvanshi Mills, a beautiful housewares and accessories store.

image

I got myself some great serving plates from this collection: plates It was then back to the hotel, at 5pm, and time for a Coffee pit stop at the Oberoi with a great view and off too the airport again, and hoping to be back soon to this great city for longer!image

Leave a comment